Just a little determination

First I would like to apologize for not posting more then I should.  Things have been crazy busy and I am h oping that things are going to slow down a bit since it is nearing fall.

Paige has started to scoot around the house like a little mad women.

She is getting into everything that you could possibly think of.  It is becoming harder to entertain her as she just wants to go go go and wants someone to always pay attention to her.  I think that I had almost every measuring cup in the house on floor with her the other day.  It was a toddler tornado up in here.

With this new found freedom, Paige is feeling that she has to do everything her self.  She has to feed herself or she will bat the fork/spoon away from you like you would not believe.  She has discovered that she wants to put her own food on the spoon and put it in her mouth.  I have been letting her do it with my help, but yesterday I let her go for it and the result was pretty good.  She got spoonfuls of rice/squash and it actually made it to her mouth.  There was a bit of a rice explosion all over the booster chair and floor near the end, but all in all, it was a success.  It continues everyday as someone just had to scoop and feed herself her own cereal this morning.  Its great, I am loving the fact that this kid wants to totally feed herself.  She is picking up food more and more, and I actually gave her a snack today that I did not have to feed to her.  We have a determined little girl and some major progress happening around here.  Now if I could only get her to drink more water that would totally make my day.

*************************

I have been waiting over 3 months to for Paige to get her tubes in her ears.  I finally got a phone call last week saying that we are in for next week!  I have to admit at first I was a little scared as when I heard the word “surgery” I just went back to that place when she had heart surgery.  I do not want to emotionally go through it again.  I am glad that her ear tube surgery is a in and out in 1 day surgery.

After a week in Calgary with Grandma, we are getting back into our routine around here.  Going to appointment’s and working on achieving milestones.  I have never really set a goal time line with Paige, but I have done so this month.  My goal is for her to be walking by Christmas.  That is exactly one month before her birthday and with the encouragement of her amazing physiotherapist, we both think that it is possible.  She is cruising the furniture and is round the corners like she was born to do it.

Leave a Reply

